Garden borders

image

There are alternate materials other than plastic which can be used to set up borders for garden plots or flower beds. Being an edible landscape believer myself flowers I put in first are looked at for medicinal uses and lastly as a draw for pollinaters. I went with glass bottles for borders on this small plot. Its four feet deep, seventeen and a half feet wide. Sixteen bottles covered the run on the depth (sides). I had the dirt worked four inches deep and most the bottles were easily pushed in and leveled by hand. For those which encountered more resistance I used a regular claw hammer and a small piece of scrap wood and drove them level.

image

I didn’t take a picture, but I used two posts (any old sticks will do) equidistant from the ends of the porch and drew a twine line to basically keep the front straight. After the bottles had been placed I came back with extra soil and put this outside and inside of the border. I then used my spade handle to pack the soil decently. I completed the project by watering the plot for the day, making sure to put a good amount around the border to help the new soil compact.

image

Categories: Architecture, DIY, General Topics, Green Living, Plants | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Garden borders

  1. A legitimate reason to drink beer, thank you sir.

    Like

Leave a Reply

